• DCMS is excited to share our upcoming clubs and organizations! As clubs start this year, more information will be provided.

    Art Club

    Art club meets once a month to get creative and make different art projects together using various materials. You must sign up at the beginning of the year and submit a $25 supply fee to join. We meet from 7:15-8 AM in the Art Room (2403). Sponsor: Layla Burden (lburden@oconeeschools.org)


    Beta Club

    The National Beta Club is a service organization that promotes four core values: Character, Leadership, Achievement and Service. We are proud to have a Junior Beta Club chapter that provides opportunities for students to exhibit and develop these values. Sponsor: Scott Anderson (sanderson@oconeeschools.org), Graham Brooks (gbrooks@oconeeschools.org), Kim Hardwick (khardwick@oconeeschools.org), and Alicia Riddle (ariddle@oconeeschools.org).


    FBLA

    Future Business Leaders of America is an organization that prepares today’s students for success in business and computer science leadership through leadership, community service and competitions. Sponsor: Scott Burrell (sburrell@oconeeschools.org)


    FCCLA

    FCCLA (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America) is a career and technical student organization for students in Family and Consumer Sciences classes. Involvement in FCCLA offers members the opportunity to expand their leadership potential and develop skills for life -- planning, goal setting, problem solving, decision making, and interpersonal communication -- necessary in the home and workplace. Sponsor: Kelly Argo (kmargo@oconeeschools.org)


    FFA

    The FFA is a youth leadership organization based in Agriculture. The FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education. Sponsor: Brandon Walker (bwalker@oconeeschools.org)


    Junior Tome Society (Book Club) 

    Tome Society is a book club for students in grades 2-12. Students read and discuss books from the IT List (an annual book award list of new, PG, fun titles); create projects to enter into literacy-based competitions, and participate in virtual and in-person literacy events. In the spring, students have the opportunity to attend TomeCon annual conference. This year's conference will be held at the Classic Center in Athens with keynote speaker and amazing author Jennifer Nielsen. Sponsor: Kim Hardwick (khardwick@oconeeschools.org)


    Mathcounts

    Mathcounts is an extracurriculum club designed to increase interest and involvement in mathematics. Sponsors: Rachael Hadden (rhadden@oconeeschools.org), Julie McCartney (jmccartney@oconeeschools.org), and Denise McWhorter (dmcwhorter@oconeeschools.org


    Science Olympiad

    The Science Olympiad Club and Team are a group of students who love to solve very difficult science problems. They will design, build, and test projects as well as do extensive research on various science topics. We will then go to the regional competition in late winter to compete against the other regional Science Olympiad teams. If we place high enough, we will advance to the state competition held in the spring. Sponsor: Shannon Giddens (sgiddens@oconeeschools.org). 


    Student Council

    Student Council is an organization of selected representatives from each homeroom class. Student Council sponsors school and community projects such as Red Ribbon Week, Can-A-Thon for ACTS Foodbank, and Oconee Food for Kids.. Student Council also promotes school spirit with themed dress-up days during the football and basketball seasons. Sponsor: Alicia Riddle (ariddle@oconeeschools.org).